Alphabet Project: G is for Grandfather…

I can’t imagine not being a grandfather. It has been one of the most rewarding roles I have taken on in my life. It is no secret that my grandchildren are actually step-grandchildren, but I could not love them any more than if they were my own. And I take the role seriously. Here are some of the duties of being a grandfather as I see them:

  • Make them pancakes for breakfast, preferably green or pink and with their initial in them
  • Make them laugh by being silly
  • Listen to them when they need to talk
  • Play pretend and invent stories with them
  • Support them in whatever they try to do
  • Tell them that you love them
  • Be a good role model
  • Encourage them to try new things and take chances
  • Pick them up if they fall
  • Tell them ‘fibs’ to make them question reality and think for themselves
  • Do crafts with them
  • Throw them through the air to land on the bed
  • Read stories to them
  • Answer their questions
  • Take a lot of pictures of them

The hardest part of the recent move is not seeing them as often as I did. I miss hearing “Poppie” all the time. Even the times when they say it over and over and over. I love them and their moms like they are my own children. And I can’t wait to see them this summer.

Self portrait March 2013

Leave a Reply

