Alphabet Project: E is for eye…

Don’t be shocked that I have done two posts for the Alphabet Project in the space of one week. I really want to keep up with this and try to do at least one post a week.

At Sunday’s LAPC meeting we had Tony Sedore, a local photographer, come in and talk about HDR. Here is a link to his Flickr page. It was really interesting to look at his work and listen to him explain what HDR is and the reasons he enjoys it.

HDR stands for High Dynamic Range. In a very brief nutshell you combine, in a post processing program, multiple exposures of a picture. The different frames are purposely shot under exposed, overexposed and correctly exposed. The software then goes in combines all the frames. This allows all the details in the shadows, highlights an in-between to visible. HDR can be completely overdone and cartoony. Over it can be done very photorealistic. Remember that your eye has a larger dynamic range than your camera.

In the meeting I decided to give HDR more of a try. The D7000 makes turning bracketing on as easy as pushing a button, so why not?

Knowing that I needed an E for the Alphabet Project I decided to see if I could do an HDR image of my eye.

It was a bit of trial and error. Using my speedlight didn’t work at first because you need to be in aperture priority mode for the bracketing to work. The max sync speed on the D7000 (non high speed) is 250. Then I went outside and tried to take the shots in the sunlight. But I couldn’t get over squinting. Then I remembered that I could do a high speed sync. I changed the camera sync to high speed and took a bunch of shots.

I then played with the images in HDR Pro, which is a function in Photoshop. The preset used for this conversion is Monochromatic Artistic. I didn’t really change any of the sliders.

Eye in monochromatic HDR

One thought on “Alphabet Project: E is for eye…

Leave a Reply

