Splish splash…

I finally did some more splash photography the other day. I built a PVC ‘box’ to use for a variety of shooting situations, one being splash shots. This was my first chance to use the ‘box’ and I would say that performed pretty much like I expected. It gave me a stable platform to hold the water on while letting me get the camera really close to the pan of water.

What didn’t work was that I got an eyedropper to better control the water drops. My timing may have been off but I could not get a shot of the water splashing as I triggered the camera. And setting the interval timer did not work well either. So I just used the wireless remote to trigger the camera as water dripped from the ziploc bag hanging at the top of the box.

I also tried to tether the camera to Lightroom 4 and I had some issues. First you can’t use interval timer when tethered. But once I decided not to use the timer I tried to manually fire the camera and have it appear on the computer screen. No luck. For some reason the camera could only be fired by using the tether bar in Lightroom. And that was just too awkward to try and do. So I untethered and just shot.

Overall I am pretty pleased with the shots. I really want to get a longer macro lens so that I don’t have to worry so much about the DOF with how close I am. Maybe I will look into some extension rings rather than a whole new lens.

Now that I have a rig I can set up and leave up the main parts I will probably play around some more with this type of photography.

Strobist shot of water splashing onto a flat metal surface with the flash reflected off green fabric.

Strobist shot of water splashing onto a flat metal surface with the flash reflected off green fabric.

4 thoughts on “Splish splash…

Leave a Reply

