Giving product shots a try…

For my day job I was asked to take some pictures of an event that is a precursor to a larger event the company is hosting. As part of that shoot I was asked to take a few product shots in a beauty salon. The shot below is one of those shots.

As I always try to do I have analyzed the picture for what worked and didn’t work so I can learn from the photographs I take.

What worked:

  • The blue bottles against the sky with the sky blown out.
  • The bottles in the background giving some further context to the picture and creating a leading line.
  • The angle of the shot. The bottles were on a shelf that was just above my head level. I like the upward angle as it helps create the line of the background bottles.

What didn’t work:

  • My DOF was too large so parts of the main bottle are out of focus with a tinge of fringing.
  • My ISO was high, very high. The light in the salon was okay but I still had to pump it up to get enough light on the front of the bottle. I didn’t have anything to reflect light back onto the bottle

What I would do differently:

  • Use my reflector
  • Lower my ISO
  • Use a larger DoF

I’m going to start doing my ‘product’ and food shots soon so stay tuned to see what happens.

Comments and critiques are always welcome.

3 thoughts on “Giving product shots a try…

  1. Hi Matthew, I love the composition in this one… I think the three bottles in the background just add something to the shot, so that’s great.
    I do think it’s a bit grainy, and a produt shot has to be ‘clean’ in my opinion, but that is probably of the high iso..
    The perspective, you said the bottles were a bit above your head is great! It makes the product more interesting,
    Looking forward to your process in product/food-shooting 🙂

    • Thanks for the comments. I really appreciate them. I agree that is is grainy. But I really liked the composition so I thought I would post it. And you are completely right, any true product shot needs to be tack sharp. It was fun taking the shot though.

  2. Hi, I just thought I’d drop by and let you know I’ve nominated you for one of those Liebster awards. I don’t know if you’ve heard of them (I hadn’t really) and it might seem a bit silly, but I do enjoy reading your blog and at the very least I thought I’d let you know. Plus you were my first ever commentor! (is that a real word?) Thanks for sharing your fantastic photos!

Leave a Reply

