Monthly self-assignments…

The local photography club I am a member of, Linn Area Photography Club, has a monthly themed contest for the members. This is not a high pressure contest but rather a fun way to look at others pictures and practice your skills. I’ve been a member now for over a year and have yet to enter a single 8×10.

That is changing. After our last meeting I decided that I will be entering a photo every month. I need the practice and it gives me something to focus on in regards to a subject. In my mind this is a more formal project or assignment rather than me just putting something together last minute and hoping I get something good. I will plan, try, execute, post process, evaluate and try again.

This is also a way to get feedback on my photos from the group. There are so many brilliant photographers in the club whose work I admire I want to tap into that knowledge to get better.

The theme for April is treasure. And here will be my entry.

One thought on “Monthly self-assignments…

Leave a Reply

