All the better to see you with…

Without light there is in photography. So how do we see light? I don’t mean biologically, though that is kind of cool. I mean how do we see the light as photographers to make the pictures that speak to us, or to others?

There are so many types of light:

  • Hard light
  • Soft light
  • Reflected light
  • Side light
  • Rim light

So many types of modifiers:

  • Umbrella
  • Softbox
  • Beauty dish
  • Reflector
  • Grids

I just finished Within the Frame by David duChemin (rest of the review to come soon) and just started Sketching Light by Joe McNally. Both books have me really thinking about how to either shape or use light to create the vision that I have. My next set of assignments will be on getting to know light better.

We need to become better friends so that when I need it do something, and I ask nicely, it will help me out and do what I need it to do.

 

5 thoughts on “All the better to see you with…

  1. Learning to control and shape light is, to me, both the most fun and one of the most challenging aspects of photography. I’ll be looking forward to see what you can come up with.

Leave a Reply

