Frozen bubbles…day 21

I have been wanting to try capturing frozen bubbles since last spring when I ran across an article about them. Now that it is cold enough here in Iowa I can finally give them a shot!

I will be writing a more in-depth post over the next week or so  depending on weather conditions. There needs to be no breeze otherwise they bubbles blow away before they have a chance to freeze. There was a breeze today but I was able to capture one on the bubble wand and let it freeze.

The mixture is pretty simple. I just added some glycerin to regular bubble solution to make the bubbles just a bit thicker. The recipe I found online calls for 1 oz of dishsoap,  8 oz of warm water and 1 oz of glycerin. I will make that recipe when this batch runs out.

Here is what happens when the bubble finally pops.

I’m hoping tomorrow there is no  breeze so I can go out and take some more shots of these. Could be hours of fun, cold, but fun. I will post more as I get them.

5 thoughts on “Frozen bubbles…day 21

Leave a Reply

