Shooting without a vision…

My morning shoot on Sunday was a bit frustrating for a  number of reasons. I wanted to do some more splash shots as you can get some really interesting pictures and it is a really good way to keep learning how to use my flash.

But I had forgotten one thing, my wife had set up her sewing in the ‘dining room’ to work on presents for the holidays. I didn’t want to disturb her set up as I knew I would lose some important piece that she had cut out. So I decided to shoot in the kitchen. In the past I have done so and gotten some really cool shots, but I didn’t want to use the same setup as I was looking for more dramatic splashes. So I dinked around, got it set up, took some shots and was not happy with them.

I didn’t really have a set picture in my head. I just wanted MORE. More what I’m not sure what I wanted more of it.

I broke that down then and decided to take some pictures of the holiday decorations that were put up last week. I thought “this may look nice, lets see what I can get’. And I had the exact same problem. Because I had not pre-visualized the shot I could not get the shot I wanted. I truly did not know what the shot was I wanted.

Comparing this experience to the one from last Sunday where I worked on the photograph for the creativeLIVE post I see a big difference. For that shot I knew what I was striving for. The exact composition wasn’t done until I put it all together, but I knew the ‘feel’ of the picture. That way when I looked at my first attempts I knew they were off and didn’t capture what I had in my head. So I went back and kept working on it. This morning was the complete opposite.  Since I had no idea what I was looking for I couldn’t get the pictures to feel right.

I know there will be times I will get photographs that just happen without me having pre-visualized the whole thing and I will be happy with them. But knowing what you are looking for as you start I think truly makes a difference in the photographs you make.

What do you do to pre-visualize your photographs and does it make a difference?

After looking at what I had taken I played around in post-processing and am happy with this one.

3 thoughts on “Shooting without a vision…

  1. I feel the same, If i have no vision, my photos are very bland and regular, out of focus ect,,When I have a vision, my stomach gets all knotty and I rush to get the job done, but have fun with it. One of my favorite shoots is the one I did with my son on my blog, called “featuring my son Jacob.” ( I believe its called that..lol) But amazng work mathew! I think I might try and expiriement with water! the resaults are beautiful!

    • Tanya, playing with water is fun, frustrating and overall very cool. You set it up with a pretty straightforward setup but the results you get are always different. Then you just start adding bits and you can get some fun shots. Having a vision to start with really helps me feel good about what I am shooting.

Leave a Reply

