Stitching together…

Last year I had  the chance to take a number of pictures of a really cool statue in Texas. I didn’t want to take one picture of the whole thing as I knew that I wouldn’t get the detail I wanted in the horses. So I decided to take multiple pictures and see if I could get them stitched together. Since I didn’t have a tripod I was really hoping that I could hand hold it steady enough to get some good shots.

I found the photos again the other day and decided to see how they would turn out. Overall I am happy with the picture. Using the Photomerge functionality was really easy. I only had to crop a bit off the bottom and top where things didn’t line up quite right. Played around a bit in Photoshop to make it a bit more dramatic per David Nightingale. Not sure that part of it turned out as well. I wish there would have been to do some bracketed shots to do an HDR shot.

It was worth getting questioned by security if I was a professional photographer.

Click the image below to see the full image (if cut by the browser). The full size image can been seen here.

2 thoughts on “Stitching together…

  1. As you say, well worth the effort and the security interrogation to get this shot. I am always surprised at how well Photomerge copes with handheld panoramas. Thanks for posting it.

Leave a Reply

