Coming back to post processing…

Post processing photographs is something that I really enjoy doing. This week I went back to some of the photos I edited last week and realized that there was something missing from them. I liked the overall effect I had created, but they didn’t seem quite right. This wasn’t a case of  making ‘one more change’.

So I started playing around again. In the original version I had desaturated the colors a bit. This caused the picture to cool down. I like the muted colors, but this caused the young’s girl’s face to appear darker or cooler than it should have been. The first thing I did was try to use some fill flash with the Lightroom adjustment brush. That wasn’t quite right though.

Next I played with the white balance and warmed up the whole picture. And that did it! The overall colors still had the slightly washed out tone I was looking for but her face had some more color in it. Both pictures are nice. Each has there own feel but the warmer one is better is more of what I ‘saw’ in my mind.

What I have realized is that after I shoot and then do some post-processing I need to step back for a few days. Once the immediacy of the edits has worn off then I can go back, take another look at them and finish them up.

What is your process for edits?

One thought on “Coming back to post processing…

  1. I approach my images pretty much all the same. I import my RAW files to Lightroom, do some minor tweaking on white balance and levels and, if needed, apply graduated filters and fix any exposure issues. I also crop many photos in Lightroom. Then I export as JPEG and open with Photoshop to do the rest of the work. First, I work on blemishes and/or removing anything in the image. If a background needs fixed, I do it here. Then I create a snapshot, defog and then work on smoothing skin and making eyes pop. From there, I use a few different blending modes depending upon the look I want, but for portraits this usually entails multiply and/or soft light. From here, I do dodging and burning and selective sharpening/blurring. A quick level adjustment gets my photo ready for a final unsharp mask and I’m done. If I want to use any effect actions, I always do it before the unsharp mask.

Leave a Reply

