Reflections II…

This blog started with a reflection post so I figured it was time for another one.

I have not been shooting as much as I should be. In giving that some thought I believe it was because I was still processing my first shoot. By processing I mean in my head, not on the computer. (Though I am still doing that too, but that is a post for next week.)

So what is it that I have been doing since the shoot? Thinking about the photos I took,what I could have done better, what I would change. And what I did right. It still amazes me how much I have learned about myself and photography in that one 40 minute shoot. While I know everyone talks about shooting to get better I think it goes even beyond that. It isn’t just about taking pictures, but about doing actual shoots. I don’t mean a paying shoot per se, but a shoot where you have a goal, models, change the set up things like that. Your mindset changes. Instead of just capturing pictures you are making pictures with a purpose.

So it is time to get back into it.

My plan is to get a bunch of shooting done this weekend again. I want to do some more splash pictures as well as my lens testing as stated in my post from the 7th. Plus I have some ideas for a few other macro shots. There is a photo local photo contest that I am thinking about entering this weekend. There is a creativeLive workshop this weekend I will be watching. So much to do!

The other things that I will be working on this weekend is some information for the photo club at work. I am giving a small talk on the differences between dslr and point & shoot cameras. People have asked for this since Black Friday is coming. Plus I will be putting some articles together for the club newsletter. Going to be a busy weekend.

I will start shooting every day again as well.

My question to you is: “What helped you become a better photographer?”

One thought on “Reflections II…

  1. In answer to your question, I’m not sure that I have improved much, but if I ever do it will probably be by looking at the work of others, listening to the critique of others (such as Camera Club judges), taking photos and analysing them, and lastly having some faith in myself.

    Nice reflection.

Leave a Reply

