Know your gear…

Since I’ve been posting pictures online and at my full time job I have gotten the question “What camera do you use?” a few times. I love talking about camera gear and will gladly talk about what I am shooting with (Nikon D5000). Luckily no one has made the dreaded statement of “You take excellent pictures. You must have a really good camera.” While camera gear can help you take a good picture it is the person behind the camera that makes the picture.

And this is where knowing you gear comes in. If you know what your gear can and can’t do, understand the basics of photography you can get amazing pictures with whatever gear you have. I have seen someone win a local art fair with pictures that were take with a Canon Rebel (not that there is anything wrong with the camera-it just isn’t a high end dslr) and there is a whole movement of photos that were taken with camera phones being published.

My philosophy is that while I ‘want’ some new lens and a different camera body I won’t be getting them any time soon. So that means I need to make the most of the gear I currently do have.

  • Nikon D5000
  • 13-55 mm 4-5.6
  • 55-200mm 4-5.6
  • 60mm 2.0 macro

This is a good set of gear. It gives me a good focal range to play with. All the pictures from last weeks photo shoot were taken with the 55-200 mm. Do I wish I had the Nikon 70-200 2.8? Sure I do. But I still have a good lens. I just need to know what I need to do in order to get the picture to turn out the way I want.

My goal over the next two weeks is to set up some tests for my gear to find where does the noise get really bad, what is the sweet spot of each lens and what is the best distance to get some really nice bokeh or background separation.

I won’t deny that I will upgrade when I can. But I won’t let not having the gear I want prevent me from making the photographs I want to make.

What piece of gear do you have that is not high end that you wouldn’t want to be without?

3 thoughts on “Know your gear…

  1. Yes, the dreaded, question, what camera do you shoot with? It’s not the camera, folks, It’s what you do with it. 🙂 Have fun playing with the noise issue and finding the sweet spots on the lenses.

Leave a Reply

