Post-processing workshop aftermath…

Last Saturday I taught a very basic course in post-processing photographs using a number of programs (Lightroom, Photoshop and Gimp) as I mentioned in this post. And by basic I mean very basic. We talked about the differences between RAW and JPEG and then moved onto the programs.

We started out in Lightroom with me showing how to import, organize and do basic using the Develop module. The picture at the bottom of the post is what I created during the class.

Then we moved onto Gimp/Photoshop. What the group really wanted to see was how to use layers. The first thing we did was selective coloring. I know it can be overdone and many people don’t like it. But learning how it is done can give you a good understanding of both layers and masks. Next was changing/hue saturation of a picture. We also played with curve adjustment layers.

Overall the class was a success. Lightroom was the big hit for many of the folks and I am betting it will be on a few Christmas lists. Some of the others have programs already that can do layers, but they did not understand how to really use them. Hopefully now they have a basic understanding and can start playing.

I believe that one of the biggest takeaways from the class was just learning what some of the functions in the various programs do. Things like curves, contrast, sharpening, and masks. My hope now is that they will continue learning and playing with their programs to develop their own post-processing style.

What do you like about post-procesing?

4 thoughts on “Post-processing workshop aftermath…

  1. What I like about post processing is that it can help me bring out my vision for a photo. What I don’t like is that I’m rather bad at it :p Layers is definitely something I should look into as well.

  2. I enjoy the sense of satisfaction when my post processing achieves my objective. I have aspirations to become more competent in the art, but time always seems to get in the way of learning and practicing, thus keeping my PP efforts to very basic. My other problem is rememberin how the hell I did it last time. That is when age also gets in the way.

    Perhaps I should spend less time blogging and more time Post Processing.

  3. I really like the photo you did, Matthew! Very nice. And So wonderful for you to help fledgling photographers. Truly. I like post processing, as it’s necessary, as I use Raw, but I prefer to do my work in the basic processing of the raw image. And I agree, post processing helps with the vision of a photo. I think it can overdone though.

    I’m not a believer in photography is what we see, as I don’t think that’s true. I think photography is what the photographer sees, and post processing helps that. 🙂 It’s a great tool. Great post!

Leave a Reply

