Post-processing workshop

Here is a high level version of the story of how I got into photography. I am sure I will tell this story again in the future. Bear with me, there is a point to all of this.

  1. Decided we were taking a trip to Europe.
  2. Decided needed a good camera for the trip.
  3. Wanted the camera in plenty of time to learn how to use it.
  4. Started learn photography by reading and watching videos online
  5. Realized that photography is a community and to get more out of it I needed to give back to it.

So I started a photography club where I work. We meet once a month for an hour during work hours. The focus is education and sharing of our photographs.

As I have been learning how to make pictures I have also been learning how to post process them. I shoot RAW so each photo needs some work done out of camera, even if it is only sharpening. I love post-processing and want to learn so many different techniques.

In one of the photo club meetings I did a bit of post-processing showing the group some very basic stuff. So I was then asked to do a mini workshop for the club.

That is what I am doing on Saturday. People can bring in images and we will walk through some basic activities such as turning a picture black and white, selective coloring, sharpening, contrast, color changes and other such things. We will mainly be using GIMP but there will be some Photoshop and Lightroom as well.  I’m really looking forward to the class. I’m hoping it will help reinforce what I have learned myself over the last year.

What are you doing to give back to the photography community?

Here is a picture where I was playing around with textures.

3 thoughts on “Post-processing workshop

  1. I think this is wonderful for you to do. Great idea about the camera club and the teaching. I think what I do most of all, is locally, when someone asks me about photography, or whatever, I give them details on how to shoot things, process them, etc. I’ve had budding photographers tell me that other photographers locally weren’t as forthcoming. I just love photography, and so talking about it is just pure fun. 🙂 Great post!

    • Thanks Katie. It was a lot of fun to do. The four hours went really fast. My Wednesday post will be about the class. I love the ‘sharing’ aspect of the photography community. If it wasn’t for professional’s sharing their knowledge like they have I would not be at this point in my photography journey.

Leave a Reply

