Resistance and the creative process…

I’ve been reading Do the Work by Steven Pressfield. In this book he takes the concept of  ‘resistance’, introduced in The War of Art, to the next level. While The War of Art talks about how we are own worst enemies when it comes making changes in our lives or being creative, Do the Work talks about how to get through that resistance and accomplish your goals, your dreams.

To live the life you want to live.

Resistance is real. You can always find a reason to not do follow your heart or your dreams. It can be as simple as “I’ll do that later” to the voice in your head telling you that you will fail. People don’t like change, those around us don’t like change. It is easier to not change than to take the chance.

One of forms resistance can take is research. Rather than creating or doing, you research the topic, the situation until that becomes all you do. I feel I have somewhat fallen into that form of resistance. There is a fine line between studying/learning and not moving forward with my photography because there is just one more thing to look up.

I still have lots to learn. But I am done only reading about the techniques. It is time to do something about it.

2 thoughts on “Resistance and the creative process…

  1. This is brilliant. I agree totally, we can always find a reason not to do something, especially things that are different a bit difficult. Or fall into a pattern of doing the same thing over and over again. My thing with my photography, is I’m just shooting and learning as I go. It’s pretty much how I’ve taught myself, which isn’t always the smartest way. Thanks for this post and also the links to the books. Nice perspective in the photo too. 🙂

    • Thank you Katie. I too have been learning by what as I go. Mostly what I read, try out and the try again. I love the process. Is it the best way? Probably not. But it is such a great feeling when you figure something out or the picture comes out like you envisioned it in your head.

Leave a Reply

