Shooting at the rodeo…

Taking pictures helps you become a better photographer. This past weekend I took a lot of pictures. Over two days I took over 1300 pictures. What was even better it was subject/genre that I have never shot before.

I spent the weekend taking action shots at a local rodeo. I used some focus modes I had never used on my camera. The sun was high and harsh so that had to be taken into account. The thing I learned the most about was anticipating the shot. I took more pictures the first day as I didn’t know how the rodeo works, where the peak moments of action would be. As I got into the rhythm of the shoot I could anticipate where the key moments would be. I stopped ‘spraying and praying’ for the shot and was much more selective.Β  One other thing that I took away from the weekend was making sure to look around, away from where you expect the shot to be as life is going on around you. I got some good shots of the slower moments at the rodeo as well.

I’m still working on the majority of the pictures. But here are a few that I took.

And some of the calmer moments.


2 thoughts on “Shooting at the rodeo…

  1. These are great photos. πŸ™‚ As you wrote, I’ve found also that when action is just so fast, and you don’t know what to expect, sometimes it’s best just to keep shooting, as the camera can catch things that our eyes can’t see (the camera stops the motion). Using a focus that tracks movement is good too. I agree though, those quiet moment photos are just wonderful; really love the cowboy and the kid. I like the human aspect of those photos. Great job, and it sounds like it was a lot of fun! πŸ™‚

    • It was a great deal of fun! More than I actually thought it would be. Exciting to shoot something new and try out techniques I hadn’t used yet. I appreciate your comments a great deal! Thank you for making them.

Leave a Reply

