In the weeds…

There are times that I get focused on the process rather than getting to the results. It used to happen when I was trying to write stories. I would come up with the idea, and possibly even start writing. But then I would get stuck. Not writer’s block stuck but rather I needed to ‘understand’ the story or the character at a deeper level. This would prevent me from writing any further. Which then caused a vicious cycle where I would get frustrated with myself for not writing. And because of that frustration I would not write. So on and so forth.

This is the same thing that has happened to me with my photography. I love taking pictures. There is no doubt about that. But because I haven’t felt inspired, or too tired, or not enough time, or some other reason I haven’t been taking pictures. I wrote a bit about this in a post last week. What I do instead is read, watch and learn about photography rather than take pictures to learn the gear and the craft.

This is not an excuse. It is an admission. I must find the inspiration to get out and take pictures again. I truly want to get better at photography. I have two ideas for pictures. One is the continuation of the reflections picture. That was a proof of concept picture. Now I need to try to get the picture I have envisioned. The other picture involves a composite with fairies acting like night lights.

I’ve gotten lost in the weeds of the photography process. It is time to find my way out.

One thought on “In the weeds…

Leave a Reply

